Woolfest 2013

Sorry this blog is a bit late on my report on Woolfest, but I’m not quite sure where the time has gone since I came home on Saturday.

I drove over to Cockermouth on Thursday morning, arriving at the Auction Mart just after 12, parked up the campervan and unhooked the trailer, parked it next to the campervan and waited until the mart was ready for stallholders to set up at 2.30.

Image

 

This is what my stall looked like before Woolfest started on Friday morning. As you can see my stall is “stuffed” full of fibre etc and so next year I’m going to have to have a double stand just so my customers can see what I’ve got.

As always with Woolfest, and I always forget, that for the 1st hour or so, it is very quiet as the visitors slowly work their way from row A through to row H, where I’m located, with their programmes ticking off the stalls they intend to call back to once they’ve seen all the stalls. I did have one very funny moment where a “little old lady” asked me where my blocking boards were? confusion followed as I don’t sell them. She had my stall marked in her programme, by her husband, as one of the stalls to visit for blocking boards. She was most apologetic, but went off with steam coming out of her ears and muttering “I’ll kill him, I’ll kill him, sending me to the wrong stall!!!” It made me titter and I dread to think what she said to her poor husband!!!

Image

Of the 50 yarn bowls I took, I had only 15 left by Friday night and by lunch time on Saturday, the last bowl was sold. 60 more bowls have been ordered and it’s going to be a close run thing as to if they will be ready before I go to Fibre East at the end of this month, or I’m picking them up as I go to Fibre East, as I did last year.

Sales on the whole were good, especially the dyed tops and dyed fleece, but the finishing time of 6pm on the Friday, and 5pm on the Saturday, did make it a very long show and I’m extremely grateful to our friend Scooby who fancied a walk in the Lakes and so brought Tim over to Cockermouth on the Saturday afternoon, as public transport failed miserably from Penrith to Cockermouth, the bus leaving 2 mins before the train arrived!!! Which meant that Tim could see Woolfest for the first time and the stall, help pack away and we were able to have a decent tea (steak pie and chips) before the 2 hour drive home.

I unpacked the trailer and counted the stock I had brought back on Monday. I could do with buying some more fibre, but have decided to wait until after Fibre East, as I’ve just about enough fibre, fingers crossed, but it means I can spend the next 3 weeks dying fleece and fibre in readiness for Woolfest.

Leave a Reply

Yarnspider by the sea

Life growing veg, selling exotic fibre, hand dyed wool and anything else that happens.

Life growing veg, selling exotic fibre, hand dyed wool and anything else that happens.

Mrs Woolsack's Blog

Life growing veg, selling exotic fibre, hand dyed wool and anything else that happens.

The Accidental Smallholder Diary

Life growing veg, selling exotic fibre, hand dyed wool and anything else that happens.

A history of Colour

Life growing veg, selling exotic fibre, hand dyed wool and anything else that happens.

Freyalyn's Thoughts

Life growing veg, selling exotic fibre, hand dyed wool and anything else that happens.

jonstorey.com

A collection of images and words on life in Northumbria and beyond

Tales from the workshop - Woodland Turnery

Day to Day life in this little corner of Wales

Dyeing to....

Life growing veg, selling exotic fibre, hand dyed wool and anything else that happens.

Wellground Alpacas in Wiltshire.

Life growing veg, selling exotic fibre, hand dyed wool and anything else that happens.

Debbies alpaca blog

Life growing veg, selling exotic fibre, hand dyed wool and anything else that happens.

A Life Less Simple

A journal of a path to somewhere…

