Fibre East 2013 Report

I left for Bedfordshire on Friday morning and after a very hot and sticky 4 hour drive down the A1 I finally arrived at Fibre East around 1.30pm. After a refereshing cup of tea and with some help to unload all of my stuff in the trailer, I started to set up my stall.

Image

 

I was in the school restaurant, you can still see some of the school notices on the wall at back of my stall.

Image

This is the right side of the stall and you can see the one of the new bins I’ve purchased now that I’m going for a larger stall. Looks good with all the wool in it, and the customers certainly enjoyed rummaging through the bin looking for their favourate shade.

Image

This is the left side of the stall and you can see the 2 new square wire bins I’ve also recently bought and it’s great for displaying my bags of dyed and washed fleece.

Saturday, the first day of the show, was another hot and sticky one, and I’m really glad there was a cold water machine in our room, it was well used by all the stallholders. As usual my stall was next to Freyalyn’s Fibres and we both had a very busy day. We hardly stopped all day, the fibre seemed to fly off the stall.

I’ve now got a card machine to take payments, but on the Saturday it didn’t want to work, and mine was not the only one, partly due to the weather and we all think partly due to the school’s restricted WiFi. I only lost one sale because the machine wasn’t working. so though annoying, wasn’t too bad. I did manage to get it working for Sunday, thankfully.

Saturday night we had the usual Fibre East thunder storm, but because the field we were camping in was dry the water soon drained away and the air was so much fresher as a result.

Sunday was a much quieter day, sales wise, but it was nice to be able to spend some time doing my knitting, and chatting to customers and stallholders. Tim spent Sunday working his way from Middlesbrough to Flitwick on the train, firstly cycling from home to the station, but things started to go wrong when he got up and it was raining and no buses run before 10.30 to the station. Thankfully a friend gave him a lift to the station. But whilst Tim was waiting for his lift, he’d made hiself some sandwiches, put them in his bag, left it handing on the end of the stairs whilst he went to clean his teeth. When he came back downstairs he noticed some cling film of the floor, then this open bag, and no sandwiches, Deefa had eaten them!!! If Deefa hadn’t taken the sandwiches out of the cling film Tim would not have known he’d eaten his sandwiches. Then when Tim got to Middlesbrough station thedestination boards were saying that the train to York was delayed and the next train was for Darlington, so Tim watched the train come into the station and then go out only to discover that this was the York train, not the Darlington train!!!! Anyway after a bit of a detour he finally arrived in Flitwick just 30mins later than he should have and was able to help me pack up the trailer and drive home. We got home around 11.45 but we were both too wide awake to sleep and Holly & Deefa had missed me, especailly Deefa, so there was no way I could go straight to bed!

I and the dogs unpacked the trailer Monday morning between the showers. Deefa and I counted all the fibre I’d brought back and I was surprised just what I’d sold, right across the range of fibre that I stock. I only sold 15 yarn bowls at this show, there was another stallholder selling just yarn bowls in various sizes, they were beautiful and totally different from the ones that I sell.

Fibre East was for me, a great show both sales wise and socially, the new location is great, both from a stall location, camping facilities and ease of getting to. I will be doing this show again next year.

Leave a Reply

Yarnspider by the sea

Life growing veg, selling exotic fibre, hand dyed wool and anything else that happens.

Life growing veg, selling exotic fibre, hand dyed wool and anything else that happens.

Mrs Woolsack's Blog

Life growing veg, selling exotic fibre, hand dyed wool and anything else that happens.

The Accidental Smallholder Diary

Life growing veg, selling exotic fibre, hand dyed wool and anything else that happens.

A history of Colour

Life growing veg, selling exotic fibre, hand dyed wool and anything else that happens.

Freyalyn's Thoughts

Life growing veg, selling exotic fibre, hand dyed wool and anything else that happens.

jonstorey.com

A collection of images and words on life in Northumbria and beyond

Tales from the workshop - Woodland Turnery

Day to Day life in this little corner of Wales

Dyeing to....

Life growing veg, selling exotic fibre, hand dyed wool and anything else that happens.

Wellground Alpacas in Wiltshire.

Life growing veg, selling exotic fibre, hand dyed wool and anything else that happens.

Debbies alpaca blog

Life growing veg, selling exotic fibre, hand dyed wool and anything else that happens.

A Life Less Simple

A journal of a path to somewhere…

